Columbus State University Print Logo

Academic Center for Excellence

Academic Center for Excellence

How does Advising work at CSU?

Your advisor is assigned based on your major and classification (freshman, sophomore, etc). All Freshman and Sophomores at CSU are assigned to a staff advisor located in one of the CSU ADVISE locations. Juniors and Seniors are advised by department faculty. 

Who Is My Advisor?

Your advisor's name is listed on the Student Homepage of your MyCSU Portal. If you do not find an advisor's name in your portal, you should contact the department to which you are assigned. Students who need help identifying their advisor may also contact (706) 507-8780.

You may also use the list below to identify your advisor.

 

*Accounting & Finance

*Adult Learner

*Art

*Biology (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Biology (Juniors & Seniors)

*Business

*Chemistry (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Chemistry (Juniors & Seniors)

*Communication (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Communication (Juniors & Seniors)

*Computer Science

*Criminal Justice (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Criminal Justice (Juniors & Seniors)

*Early College

*Earth & Space Science (Juniors & Seniors)

*Engineering 

*Education

*English (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*English (Juniors & Seniors)

*Exercise Science 

*General Studies Associates

*Health and Physical Education 

*Health Science (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Health Science (Juniors & Seniors)

*High School Dual Enrollment

*History (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*History (Juniors & Seniors) 

*Honors Program

*Liberal Arts (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Liberal Arts (Juniors & Seniors)

*Mathematics (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Mathematics (Juniors & Seniors)

*Management & Marketing

*Modern & Classical Languages (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Modern & Classical Languages (Juniors & Seniors)

*Music

*Philosophy

*Politics, Philosophy, and Public Administration

*Psychology (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Psychology (Juniors & Seniors)

*Nursing

*Sociology (Freshmen - Junior)

*Sociology (Seniors)

*Theatre

*Undeclared

*UTeach

Academic Center for Excellence (ACE), Schuster 211

Department Location Contact

Adult Learner

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Biology
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 205D

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

Chemistry
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

Communication
(Freshmen & Sophomores up to 50 hours)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

Criminal Justice
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 205A

Alisha Miles
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

Early College

Schuster 205B

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

English
(Freshman & Sophomores)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

General Studies/Core Curriculum (Associates)

Schuster 200

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

High School Dual Enrollment (Formally MOWR)

Schuster 207

Jay Davis
706-507-8785
davis_thomas2@columbusstate.edu

History 
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Liberal Arts
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Mathematics 
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Modern & Classical Languages
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Psychology
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 205A

Alisha Miles
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

Sociology
(Freshmen, Sophomores & Juniors)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Undeclared

Schuster 205B

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

College of Arts

Department Location Contact

Art

Yancey Center 219

Jennifer McCollough (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8301
mccollough_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

Communication
(Juniors & Seniors)

Carpenters Building 207

Glen Arrington (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8601
arrington_glen@columbusstate.edu

Schwob School of Music

RiverCenter for the Performing Arts

Dr. Kristen Hansen
706-649-7225
hansen_kristen@columbusstate.edu

Theatre

Yancey Center 260

Katie Cannon (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8400
cannon_katherine1@columbusstate.edu

Turner College of Business and Computer Science

Department Location Contact

Accounting & Finance

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 233

Deidre Tilley
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8158
tilley_deidre@columbusstate.edu

Management & Marketing

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 233

Deidre Tilley
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8158
tilley_deidre@columbusstate.edu

TSYS School of Computer Science

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 453

Lillian “Dianne” Phillips
(Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8170
phillips_dianne@columbusstate.edu

College of Letters and Sciences

Department Location Contact

Biology (Juniors & Seniors)

Lenoir Hall 151

Joy Davis (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2065
davis_joy@columbusstate.edu

Chemistry (Juniors & Seniors)

Lenoir Hall 102A

Dr. Floyd Jackson
706-569-3031
jackson_floyd@columbusstate.edu

Criminal Justice
(Juniors & Seniors)

Shannon Hall 328
(Dr. Dowis)


Shannon Hall 326
(Dr. Byun)

Shannon Hall 319
(Bridget Downs)

Dr. Dorinda Dowis
(Last Names A-M)
706-507-8708
dowis_dorinda@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Sung-Hun Byun
(Last Names N-Z)
706-507-8704
byun_sunghun@columbusstate.edu

Bridget Downs
Transfer Students, ROTC, and PMP
706-507-8709
downs_bridget@columbusstate.edu

Earth & Space Science

Lenoir Hall Annex 101

Dr. Rosa Williams
Astrophysics and Planetary Geology
706-649-1474
williams_rosa@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Clinton Barineau
Geology

706-507-8092
barineau_clinton@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Troy Keller
Environmental Science

706-507-8099
keller_troy@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Kimberly Shaw
Secondary Education

706-507-8344
shaw_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering

706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

Engineering

Lenoir Hall Annex 101

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering
706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

English (Juniors & Seniors)

Arnold 220

Annie Carey (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2054
carey_annie@columbusstate.edu

History & Geography

Yancey Center 341

Patty Chappel (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8350
chappel_patty@columbusstate.edu

Liberal Arts (Juniors & Seniors)

Shannon Hall 310

Dan Van Kley
(Last Names A-M)
706-507-8259
vankley_daniel@columbusstate.edu

David Wisdo
(Last Names N-Z)
706-507-8261
wisdo_david@columbusstate.edu

Modern & Classical Languages
(Juniors & Seniors)

Shannon Hall 222

Ms. Janet Jamieson (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8450
jamieson_janet@columbusstate.edu

Political Science & MPA Program

Shannon Hall 310

Raquel Aponte (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8702
aponte_raquel@columbusstate.edu

Psychology
(Juniors & Seniors)

Shannon Hall 110

Rita Snell (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2116
snell_rita@columbusstate.edu

Sociology
(Seniors)

Shannon Hall 310

Amanda Adams (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8700
adams_amanda@columbusstate.edu

College of Education and Health Professions

Department Location Contact

Exercise Science


(Freshman - Juniors up 75 hours)



(Juniors (75+ hours) and Seniors)


Frank Brown Hall 2028

Health & Wellness Center 207
(Kate Early)


Health & Wellness Center 208
(Dr. Tyo)

Health & Wellness Center 209
(Dr. Mangum)

Julie Lowry
706-507-8569
lowry_julianne@columbusstate.edu

Kate Early
(Last names A – F)
706-507-8295
early_kate@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Brian Tyo
(Last Names G-M)
706-507-8294
tyo_brian@columbusstate.edu

Alicia Bryan
(Last names N – Z)
706-568-5084
bryan_alicia@columbusstate.edu

School of Nursing

Frank Brown Hall 2032

Terri Conner
706-507-8560
conner_terri@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Early Childhood)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2000


Frank Brown Hall 2015

Janie Henderson

706-507-1435
henderson_janie@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Health & Physical Education)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Middle Grades:
Concentrations Language Arts,
Social Studies, Science, Math)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu
Teacher Education
(Secondary Education:
Concentrations History, English, Spanish)
Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Special Education)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2027

Kimberly Haymans
706-507-1434
haymans_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Health Science

(Freshman & Sophomores)

(Juniors & Seniors)

Frank Brown Hall 2028

Lumpkin Center 156B
(Dr. Thomas)

Lumpkin Center 255
(Rebecca Toland)

Julie Lowry
706-507-8569
lowry_julianne@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Joy Thomas
(Last Names A-M)
706-568-2060
thomas_joy1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Rebecca Toland 
(Last Names N-Z)
toland_rebecca@columbusstate.edu

UTeach

Jordan Hall 123

Judy Whitt
706-507-8615
whitt_judy@columbusstate.edu