Columbus State University Print Logo

CSU ADVISE

CSU ADVISE

How does Advising work at CSU?

Your advisor is assigned based on your major and classification (freshman, sophomore, etc). All Freshman and Sophomores at CSU are assigned to a staff advisor located in one of the CSU ADVISE locations. Juniors and Seniors are advised by department faculty. 

Who Is My Advisor?

Your advisor's name is listed on the Student Homepage of your MyCSU Portal. If you do not find an advisor's name in your portal, you should contact the department to which you are assigned. Students who need help identifying their advisor may also contact (706) 507-8780.

You may also use the list below to identify your advisor.

   

Major & Class Location Contact

Accounting & Finance

 

(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

 

CSU ADVISE
Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 232A

 


Business Student Services Center (CCT)

 


Kaylen Deal
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8186
deal_kaylen@columbusstate.edu

Business Student Services Center
CCT 229
706-507-8150

Art

 

(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)




CSU ADVISE
Broadway Crossing


Yancey Center 219



Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu


Jennifer McCollough
(Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8301
mccollough_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

Biology


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205D

 


Biology Department
Lenoir Hall 151

 

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

 

Joy Davis (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2065
davis_joy@columbusstate.edu

Chemistry


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 


(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204

 


Chemistry Department
Lenoir Hall 102A

 

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

 

Dr. Floyd Jackson
706-569-3031
jackson_floyd@columbusstate.edu

Communication


(Freshmen & Sophomores up to 50 hours)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE 
Broadway Crossing

 


Communication Department
Carpenters Building 207


Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

 

Glen Arrington (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8601
arrington_glen@columbusstate.edu

Computer Science

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 453

Lillian “Dianne” Phillips
(Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8170
phillips_dianne@columbusstate.edu

Criminal Justice


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205A

 


Criminal Justice Department
Shannon Hall 328
(Dr. Dowis)

 

Criminal Justice Department
Shannon Hall 326
(Dr. Byun)

 

 

Criminal Justice Department
Shannon Hall 319
(Bridget Downs)

 

Alisha Miles
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

 

Dr. Dorinda Dowis
(Last Names A-M)
706-507-8708
dowis_dorinda@columbusstate.edu

 

Dr. Sung-Hun Byun
(Last Names N-Z)
706-507-8704
byun_sunghun@columbusstate.edu

 

Bridget Downs
Transfer Students, ROTC, and PMP
706-507-8709
downs_bridget@columbusstate.edu

Early College

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 207

Jay Davis
706-507-8785
davis_thomas2@columbusstate.edu

Earth & Space Science

 


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205B

 

 

Lenoir Hall Annex 101

 


Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

 

 

Dr. Rosa Williams
Astrophysics and Planetary Geology
706-649-1474
williams_rosa@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Clinton Barineau
Geology

706-507-8092
barineau_clinton@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Troy Keller
Environmental Science

706-507-8099
keller_troy@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Kimberly Shaw
Secondary Education

706-507-8344
shaw_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering

706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

Engineering


(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)



CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205B




Earth & Space Science Dept
Lenoir Hall Annex 101

 

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

 

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering
706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

English


(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204

 


English Department
Arnold 220

 

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

 

Annie Carey (Admin. Asst.)
706-565-1200
carey_annie@columbusstate.edu

Exercise Science


(Freshman - Juniors up 75 hours)



(Juniors (75+ hours) and Seniors)


CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2028

 

Exercise Science Dept. 
Health & Wellness Center 207
(Kate Early)


Exercise Science Dept.
Health & Wellness Center 208
(Dr. Tyo)

Exercise Science Dept.
Health & Wellness Center 209
(Dr. Bryan)


Julie Lowry
706-507-8569
lowry_julianne@columbusstate.edu

Kate Early
(Last names A – F)
706-507-8295
early_kate@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Brian Tyo
(Last Names G-M)
706-507-8294
tyo_brian@columbusstate.edu

Alicia Bryan
(Last names N – Z)
706-568-5084
bryan_alicia@columbusstate.edu

General Business 

 

(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)



CSU ADVISE
Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 232A

 


Business Student Services Center (CCT)



Kaylen Deal

(Student Services Center)
706-507-8186
deal_kaylen@columbusstate.edu

Business Student Services Center
CCT 229
706-507-8150

General Studies/Core Curriculum (Associates)

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205D

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

Health Science

(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADIVSE
Frank Brown Hall 2028

 

Health Science Dept.
Lumpkin Center 156B
(Dr. Thomas)

 


Health Science Dept.
Lumpkin Center 255
(Rebecca Toland)

 

Julie Lowry
706-507-8569
lowry_julianne@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Joy Thomas
(Last Names A-M)
706-568-2060
thomas_joy1@columbusstate.edu


Dr. Rebecca Toland 
(Last Names N-Z)
toland_rebecca@columbusstate.edu

High School Dual Enrollment 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 207

Jay Davis
706-507-8785
davis_thomas2@columbusstate.edu

History 


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Broadway Crossing

 

History Department
Yancey Center 341

 

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu


Patty Chappel (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8350
chappel_patty@columbusstate.edu

Liberal Arts

(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 


CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204

 

Department of Politics & Philosophy
Shannon Hall 304

 

Department of Politics & Philosophy
Shannon Hall 332


Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu


Dan Van Kley
(Last Names A-M)
706-507-8259
vankley_daniel@columbusstate.edu

David Wisdo
(Last Names N-Z)
706-507-8261
wisdo_david@columbusstate.edu

Management & Marketing

 

(Freshman & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE 
Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 232A




Business Student Services Center (CCT)

 

Kaylen Deal
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8186
deal_kaylen@columbusstate.edu

 

Business Student Services Center
CCT 229
706-507-8150

Mathematics 


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 


(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204

 


Math Department
University Hall 238

 

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

 

Math Dept (Admin Asst.)
706-507-8240

Modern & Classical Languages


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204

 

 

Modern & Classical Language Department
Shannon Hall 222

 

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

 

Ms. Janet Jamieson (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8450
jamieson_janet@columbusstate.edu

Music

(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

 

(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Broadway Crossing

 

RiverCenter for the Performing Arts

 

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

 

Dr. Kristen Hansen
hansen_kristen@columbusstate.edu

Debra Tommey 
Admin Assistant
706-649-7224

Nursing

(Freshmen, Sophomores, and students
not yet accepted into Nursing Program)

 

(Students officially accepted into program)

 

(RN to BSN)

 

CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2032

 


School of Nursing
Frank Brown Hall 2018

 

CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2032

 

Tamika McKenzie
706-507-8564
mckenzie_tamika@columbusstate.edu

Stephanie Lahnala
706-507-8579
lahnala_stephanie@columbusstate.edu

 

Marie "Theresa" Conklin
706-507-8563
conklin_marie@columbusstate.edu

Political Science

(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)


CSU ADVISE
Schuster 204


Shannon Hall 310


Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu


Raquel Aponte
(Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8702
aponte_raquel@columbusstate.edu

Psychology


(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 


(Juniors & Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205A

 


Psychology Dept.
Shannon Hall 110

 

Alisha Miles
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

 

Rita Snell (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2116
snell_rita@columbusstate.edu

Sociology


(Freshmen, Sophomores & Juniors)

 

(Seniors)

 

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205B

 

Sociology Dept. 
Shannon Hall 310

 

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu


Amanda Adams (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8700
adams_amanda@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Early Childhood)

CSU ADVISE 
Frank Brown Hall 2000



Janie Henderson
706-507-1435
henderson_janie@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Health & Physical Education)

CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Middle Grades:
Concentrations Language Arts,
Social Studies, Science, Math)

CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu
Teacher Education
(Secondary Education:
Concentrations History, English, Spanish)
CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Special Education)

CSU ADVISE
Frank Brown Hall 2027

Kimberly Haymans
706-507-1434
haymans_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Theatre

(Freshmen & Sophomores)

 

(Juniors & Seniors)


CSU ADVISE
Broadway Crossing



Yancey Center 260


Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Katie Cannon (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8400
cannon_katherine1@columbusstate.edu

Undeclared/Focus Areas

CSU ADVISE
Schuster 205B

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

UTeach

Jordan Hall 123

Judy Whitt
706-507-8615
whitt_judy@columbusstate.edu