Columbus State University Print Logo

Academic Center for Excellence

Academic Center for Excellence

Who Is My Advisor?

Select your major to find out who your advisor is.

Your advisor is assigned based on your major or your departmental assignment. The specific name of your advisor can also be found in the top right-hand corner of your Academic Advising Record, located under the Enrollment Services Tab in CougarNet. If you do not find an advisor's name on your Academic Advising Record, you should contact the department to which you are assigned.  Students who need help identifying their advisor may contact the Academic Center for Excellence at (706) 507-8780.

 

*Accounting & Finance

*Adult Learner

*Art

*Biology (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Biology (Juniors & Seniors)

*Business

*Chemistry (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Chemistry (Juniors & Seniors)

*Communication (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Communication (Juniors & Seniors)

*Computer Science

*Criminal Justice (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Criminal Justice (Juniors & Seniors)

*Early College

*Earth & Space Science (Juniors & Seniors)

 

*Engineering 

*Education

*English (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*English (Juniors & Seniors)

*Exercise Science (Freshmen - Junior)

*Exercise Science (Seniors)

*General Studies Associates

*Health and Physical Education 

*Health Science (Freshmen - Junior)

*Health Science (Seniors)

*High School Dual Enrollment

*History (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*History (Juniors & Seniors) 

*Honors Program

*Liberal Arts (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Liberal Arts (Juniors & Seniors)

 

*Mathematics (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Mathematics (Juniors & Seniors)

*Management & Marketing

*Modern & Classical Languages (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Modern & Classical Languages (Juniors & Seniors)

*Music

*Philosophy

*Political Science & MPA Program

*Psychology (Freshmen & Sophomores)

*Psychology (Juniors & Seniors)

*Nursing

*Sociology (Freshmen - Junior)

*Sociology (Seniors)

*Theatre

*Undeclared

*UTeach

Academic Center for Excellence (ACE), Schuster 211

Department Location Contact

Adult Learner

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Biology
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 212

Chelsea Powell
706-507-8789
powell_chelsea1@columbusstate.edu

Chemistry
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

Communication
(Freshmen & Sophomores up to 50 hours)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

Criminal Justice
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 200

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

Early College

Schuster 205B

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

English
(Freshman & Sophomores)

Schuster 204

Kelly Koch
706-507-8788
koch_kelly@columbusstate.edu

Exercise Science
(Freshmen, Sophomores & Juniors)

Schuster 205A

 

 

Schuster 200

Alisha Miles
(Freshmen)
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

Joseph Sawyer
(Sophomores & Juniors)
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

General Studies/Core Curriculum (Associates)

Schuster 200

Joseph Sawyer
706-507-8782
sawyer_joseph@columbusstate.edu

Health Science 
(Freshmen, Sophomores & Juniors)

Schuster 207

 

 

 Schuster 205B

Chris Holloway
(Freshmen)
706-565-1317
holloway_christopher1@columbusstate.edu

Tammy Baxter
(Sophomores & Juniors)
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

High School Dual Enrollment (Formally MOWR)

Schuster 205C

Melissa Young
706-565-1316
young_melissa@columbusstate.edu

History 
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Liberal Arts
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 207

Chris Holloway
706-565-1317
holloway_christopher1@columbusstate.edu

Mathematics 
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 207

Chris Holloway
706-565-1317
holloway_christopher1@columbusstate.edu

Modern & Classical Languages
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Psychology
(Freshmen & Sophomores)

Schuster 205A

Alisha Miles
706-565-1318
miles_alisha@columbusstate.edu

Sociology
(Freshmen, Sophomores & Juniors)

Schuster 206

Julie Lassalle
706-507-8784
lassalle_julie@columbusstate.edu

Undeclared

Schuster 205B

Tammy Baxter
706-507-8783
baxter_tamara@columbusstate.edu

College of Arts

Department Location Contact

Art

Yancey Center 219

Jennifer McCollough (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8301
mccollough_jennifer@columbusstate.edu

Communication
(Juniors & Seniors)

Carpenters Building 207

Glen Arrington (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8601
arrington_glen@columbusstate.edu

Schwob School of Music

RiverCenter for the Performing Arts

Dr. Kristen Hansen
706-649-7225
hansen_kristen@columbusstate.edu

Theatre

Yancey Center 260

Ria Stringfellow (Administrative Asst.)
706-507-8400
stringfellow_ria@columbusstate.edu

Turner College of Business and Computer Science

Department Location Contact

Accounting & Finance

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 233

Deidre Tilley
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8158
tilley_deidre@columbusstate.edu

Management & Marketing

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 233

Deidre Tilley
(Student Services Center)
706-507-8158
tilley_deidre@columbusstate.edu

TSYS School of Computer Science

Center for Commerce & Technology (CCT) 453

Lillian “Dianne” Phillips
(Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8170
phillips_dianne@columbusstate.edu

College of Letters and Sciences

Department Location Contact

Biology (Juniors & Seniors)

Lenoir Hall 151

Joy Davis (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2065
davis_joy@columbusstate.edu

Chemistry (Juniors & Seniors)

Lenoir Hall 102A

Dr. Floyd Jackson
706-569-3031
jackson_floyd@columbusstate.edu

Criminal Justice & Sociology
(Juniors & Seniors)

Faculty Office Building 310

Amanda Adams (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8700
adams_amanda@columbusstate.edu

Earth & Space Science

Lenoir Hall Annex 101

Dr. Rosa Williams
Astrophysics and Planetary Geology
706-649-1474
williams_rosa@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Clinton Barineau
Geology

706-507-8092
barineau_clinton@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Troy Keller
Environmental Science

706-507-8099
keller_troy@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Kimberly Shaw
Secondary Education

706-507-8344
shaw_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering

706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

Engineering

Lenoir Hall Annex 101

Dr. Abiye Seifu
Pre-Engineering
706-568-2187
seifu_abiye@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Lavi Zamstein
Pre-Engineering & Robotics
706-507-8089
zamstein_lavi@columbusstate.edu

English (Juniors & Seniors)

Woodall Hall 104

Annie Carey (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2054
carey_annie@columbusstate.edu

History & Geography

Yancey Center 341

Patty Chappel (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8350
chappel_patty@columbusstate.edu

Mathematics & Philosophy

University Hall 238

Edie Salyer (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8242
salyer_edie@columbusstate.edu

Liberal Arts (Juniors & Seniors)

Faculty Office Building 310

Dan Van Kley
(Last Names A-M)
706-507-8259
vankley_daniel@columbusstate.edu

David Wisdo
(Last Names N-Z)
706-507-8261
wisdo_david@columbusstate.edu

Modern & Classical Languages
(Juniors & Seniors)

Faculty Office Building 222

Ms. Janet Jamieson (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8450
jamieson_janet@columbusstate.edu

Political Science & MPA Program

Faculty Office Building 310

Karen Kinard (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8702
kinard_karen@columbusstate.edu

Psychology
(Juniors & Seniors)

Faculty Office Building 110

Rita Snell (Admin. Asst.)
706-568-2116
snell_rita@columbusstate.edu

Sociology
(Seniors)

Faculty Office Building 310

Amanda Adams (Admin. Asst.)
706-507-8700
adams_amanda@columbusstate.edu

College of Education and Health Professions

Department Location Contact

Exercise Science
(Seniors)

Health & Wellness Center 207
(Kate Early)

 


Health & Wellness Center 208
(Dr. Tyo)

 

Health & Wellness Center 209
(Dr. Mangum)

Kate Early
(Last names A – F)
706-507-8295
early_kate@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Brian Tyo
(Last Names G-M)
706-507-8294
tyo_brian@columbusstate.edu

Alicia Bryan
(Last names N – Z)
706-568-5084
bryan_alicia@columbusstate.edu

School of Nursing

Frank Brown Hall 2032

Terri Conner
706-507-8560
conner_terri@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Early Childhood)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2000

 


Frank Brown Hall 2015

Janie Henderson

706-507-1435
henderson_janie@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Health & Physical Education)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Middle Grades:
Concentrations Language Arts,
Social Studies, Science, Math)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu
Teacher Education
(Secondary Education:
Concentrations History, English, Spanish)
Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2020
Peggy Luker
706-507-1436
luker_peggy@columbusstate.edu

Teacher Education
(Special Education)

Student Advising and Field Experiences (SAFE)
Frank Brown Hall 2027

Kimberly Haymans
706-507-1434
haymans_kimberly@columbusstate.edu

Health Science
(Seniors)

Lumpkin Center 156B
(Dr. Thomas)

 

Lumpkin Center 255
(Rebecca Toland)

Dr. Joy Thomas
(Last Names A-M)
706-568-2060
thomas_joy1@columbusstate.edu

Dr. Rebecca Toland 
(Last Names N-Z)
toland_rebecca@columbusstate.edu

UTeach

Jordan Hall 123

Judy Whitt
706-507-8615
whitt_judy@columbusstate.edu